#WritersLife Tag

This tag has been floating around the net for awhile, and since we haven’t had a post here in awhile (yeah…. don’t look at the date on the last one… no really, don’t) I figured I woul take a crack at doing this! ‘Cause… writing tags!

Okay, so here goes the Tag.

1. Write Fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?
CocaCola is never far from me. It is the soft drink of choice, and I love it. I am also known for drinking tea (I have a special mug that I and I alone am allowed to use, no one else in the house can use it. Just me xD)
Food wise, I tend to stay with biscuits. Whether plain, or chocolate, I like savoury snacks over sweet things.

2. Write Sounds: What do you listen to while writing?
I have a few things I potentially listen to while writing. The first is possibly the strangest. Audio-books. Not audio-books in general, but I have one I have listened to so much, I know it by heart, and it allows my mind to zone out, and distracts the analytical/editing portion, freeing the creative side to do it’s thing.
Failing that, I will listen to soundscapes – not music or songs, but atmospheric sounds and noises that can put me in a particular mood. One place I like to go is ambient-mixer.com (Hogwarts House soundscapes!!!)

3. Write Vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?
Twitter. Twitter is by far my biggest distraction (which is a problem, as you’ll realise in #6 xD)

4. Write Horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?
During NaNo. I had an OS crashon my desktop, had to reinstall Windows and had lost over 1,000 words. As the writer’s out there will know… re-writing something from scratch is NEVER as good as the original. You know it in your heart. It was better the other way.

5. Write Joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened while writing or how do you celebrate small victories?
I… haven’t really had that many victories. I mean, I won NaNo2014, that was pretty big. Okay, that WAS big… but celebrating was kinda done by collapsing and catching up on those lost hours of sleep… so I’m not sure on this one.

6. Write Crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing? 
To Twitter! No, seriously. My Writing Crew is the AMAZING people over at WriteAllYear (https://twitter.com/writeallyear) They are AMAZING at cheering everyone on. Whether you write 50 words, or 5,000 words. You have a personal army of cheerleaders who will drive you towards your word goal.
But specifically, the two I love the most are Hannah and Kel. They have spurred me on, they have cheered and danced with me, and we have had many jokes at each other’s expense. I could not have written HALF as much as I have this year without them. THANKS YOU TWO!

7. Write Secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?
Itmay sound like a cheap, and easy answer, but it is true. The biggest secret to getting things written… is to just sit down and write! One of the best quotes I have ever heard – alas, I cannot find the one who said it – is that most people “want to have written.” While very few actually want to sit down and write. Understanding that is the first step to knowing what it is you have before you. It’s not an easy road, it’s a bloody hard one at times, but keeping on the road is the only way to reach the end.

8. Write-spiration: What always makes you productive?
This is connected to the last one. Ultimately, what inspires me the most, is knowing that the only way my story can get told is if I write it. No one can come along and pull the story from my mind. I have to tell it, word by word, line by line. For that to happen, I have to make it happen, and get it done. (Also, thinking about how awesome the cover can be doesn’t hurt…)

9. Write Peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?
The annoying thing that I find myself doing, and am trying to stop, is looking too far ahead in the publishing process. I know it can be exciting to look at publishers and agents, and imagine what it would be like, but the thing has to be written first. You need editors, and Beta-Readers, and drafts before you can get there.
It’s the same with any endeavour, you have to make the base, before you can add the decoration.

10. Write Words- Share one sentence from a project. Past or present.
“I wouldn’t advise running.” The voice was calm, and collected, hardly a shout, yet still projecting the weight of authority. “At least not until you’ve granted me an audience.”

3 thoughts on “#WritersLife Tag

  1. I could understand the audio book thing. I’ve never done it with an audio book, but I have turned on YouTube videos and listened to those on repeat before. Haha, number 5, that was me too! NaNo was exhausting but awesome at the same time! I agree with number 3 and 4 too! The sentence is really good as well! It’s intriguing. Makes me want to know more! As to number 6, you’re amazing too! Thanks so much for all the encouraging tweets and advice! It’s REALLY helped! This is an awesome post! Just in case you don’t know who this is, because my name is different on here, I’m Kel. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: #WritersLife Tag | Addicted to YA

Leave a Reply

